• Award and Medal Winners
    Reading Medals
    Children's Awards
    American Library Association Notable Children’s Books  Each year a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books. According to the Notables Criteria, "notable" is defined as: Worthy of note or notice, important, distinguished, outstanding. As applied to children's books, notable should be thought to include books of especially commendable quality, books that exhibit venturesome creativity, and books of fiction, information, poetry and pictures for all age levels (birth through age 14) that reflect and encourage children's interests in exemplary ways.
    Caldecott Medal  The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.
    Coretta Scott King Award  Though not recognized as an association award by the ALA until 1982, the Coretta Scott King Award had its inception in the late sixties. The award, commemorating Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and honoring his widow, Coretta Scott King, honors African American writers and illustrators and celebrates the African American experience through artistic expression. It is presented annually by the Coretta Scott King Task Force of the American Library Association's Social Responsibilities Round Table.
    Michael L. Printz Award  The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.
    Newbery Medal  The Newbery Medal is awarded to the year's most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The medal is presented by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

    Robert F. Siebert Informational Book Medal  The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. ALSC administers the award.

    Sasquatch Reading Award  The Sasquatch Award allows students in Washington State the opportunity to nominate and vote for their favorite books. Our focus is to select the best books for kids in the intermediate grades.The Sasquatch Award nominees require children to read or have read to them at least two titles in order to vote.
    Young Reader"s Choice Award The YRCA was established in 1940 to promote reading for enjoyment. Children and young adults of Alberta, Alaska, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington select the winners from nominees submitted by librarians, teachers, students and others. Books must be published within the previous 3 years to be eligible.