Skip To Main Content

PSD School Board Receives State Board of Distinction Award

PSD School Board Receives State Board of Distinction Award

The Washington State School Directors' Association has announced that Pasco School District's Board of Directors has been selected to receive the prestigious 2023 Board of Distinction Award for the seventh year. This recognition underscores the unwavering commitment of the Pasco School District’s Board to setting and upholding the highest standards of governance and leadership in education.

The district joins an elite group of educational institutions across the state who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to the well-being and success of their students. This honor reflects the board's consistent efforts in driving positive outcomes within the community and fostering a culture of excellence in education. 

The Pasco School District will be presented with the Board of Distinction award at the state directors' conference ceremony held on November 16, 2023, in Spokane. 

The Board of Distinction award program is a testament to the commitment of school boards in the state of Washington. It celebrates and acknowledges their dedication to applying best practice standards endorsed by the Washington State School Directors' Association. Recipients are required to provide compelling evidence of their rigorous accountability and leadership practices, showcasing their commitment to excellence in education. Furthermore, the selection criteria include the alignment of high-quality governance attributes, which directly contribute to the enhancement of district operations and student learning. 

Amy Phillips, President of the Pasco School District Board of Directors, expressed her gratitude for the award, stating, "We are deeply honored to be acknowledged by the state for our positive impact on student success. The Pasco School District upholds a profound commitment to the success of all Pasco students, with no exceptions. We will continue our work to offer Pasco students relevant and rigorous educational experiences, cultivating a culture of belonging, and continually strengthening our bonds with families and the community." 

The Pasco School District Board of Directors is committed to creating a bright future for all students in their community. This award reaffirms their dedication to ensuring the highest quality of education and creating an environment where every student can thrive. 

Board of Directors 

Amy Phillips, President 

Amanda Brown, Vice President 

John Kennedy 

Rosa Torres 

Vincent Guerrero 

Student Board Representatives 

Kimberly Joya Manzanarez, Pasco High School 

Meia Ng, Chiawana High School 

Samantha Quiroga, Chiawana High School