Three Pasco Schools Earn State Recognition


Congratulations to McLoughlin Middle School, Emerson Elementary School and Franklin STEM Elementary School! These three Pasco schools are being honored by the state for their success in narrowing or closing gaps and helping students make gains.

Over the past year, the State Board of Education (SBE), the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), and the Educational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee (EOGOAC) worked together to revise the Washington State school recognition system to more equitably recognize schools. The state’s new State-Recognized School designation aims to equitably recognize schools for student progress. This year's winners were determined by student performance on the state’s Smarter Balanced Assessments (SBAs) for math and language arts from the 2017-18 school year.

McLoughlin, Emerson, and Franklin are three of just 216 schools across the state to earn this state recognition. "Recognized schools are in the top 20% on multiple measures and are closing achievement gaps or have all student groups achieving at a high level. Every school which earned a State Recognized School distinction this year should be very proud of their students and their staff," says Kevin Laverty, Chair of the State Board of Education.

The schools will be formally recognized at a ceremony in Spokane on June 6.



Posted: May 20, 2019