Pasco School District Board of Directors Earns State Recognition

The Pasco School District Board of Directors is one of 34 Washington school boards named a 2019 Board of Distinction by the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA). This is the fourth consecutive year that Pasco’s school board has earned the Board of Distinction recognition.

Board President Steve Christensen, Board Vice President Amy Phillips, and members Sherry Lancon, Scott Lehrman, and Aaron Richardson will be honored during the annual WSSDA conference in Bellevue this week.

The annual Boards of Distinction program is designed to encourage school boards to examine their practices as governing bodies and how their actions and decisions impact the success of students. School boards recognized as a Board of Distinction have reviewed their decision-making and shown how that is tied to positive student success.

Boards are also asked to demonstrate their actions and results in efforts to close opportunity gaps. To be selected as a Board of Distinction requires that a board show a clear link between their leadership and closing gaps that impact student success. The applications are evaluated by an independent review panel.

The PSD School Board was also named a Board of Distinction in 2009, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018. In 2009 and 2016 they were named a WSSDA School Board of the Year.




Posted: November 19, 2019